Election 2020: No Majority in Parliament as both NDC, NPP win 137 seats each.


The Eight(8th) Parliament of the Fourth Republic will have no Majority party as both the incumbent New Patriotic Party(NPP) and the largest opposition National Democratic Congress(NDC) both won 137 seats each in the 2020 election.

An independent candidate who until the election was the sitting NPP Member of Parliament for Fomena in the Ashanti Region will add up to the number to make it 275 Parliamentarians.

Declaration of the 2020 general elections had been delayed after the NPP refused to sign the Savelugu Parliamentary election declaration form where the result which was in favour of the NDC had been in a dispute.

The NDC also refused to sign the Presidential election declaration form which is relevant to complete the Northern Region tabulation to enable the Electoral Commission to complete sixteen regions so they can declare the Presidential elections, something that is creating tension in the country.

The General Secretary of the NPP in an interview with the media explained that the NPP refused to sign because an electoral official who had earlier cast his ballot in the Special voting and voted again on 7th December, an action which flouts Ghana’s electoral laws.

But in the interest of national peace, the party felt that the nation should move on consequently President Akufo Addo and the national leadership of the party resolved that their agent signs the electoral declaration form under protest and later take it up in the law court for redress.


Adwoa Adubia News