Appointment of Agric Minister designate Afriyie Akoto blocked for exhibiting arrogance


Reports from some section of the media indicates that the Appointments Committee have blocked the appointment of some Minister-designates.

Among the names mentioned are ministers-designate for Food and Agriculture, Information and Fisheries – Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah and Hawa Koomson.

For the Food and Agriculture Minister, reports indicates that his appointment was blocked by the Minority side of Parliament because of his arrogant posture at the vetting.

“In the case of the Minister for Food and Agriculture-designate, Kwaku Owusu Afriyie Akoto, members of the Minority side of the Appointments Committee accused him of being arrogant when he appeared before the committee and on that basis, they will not approve of his nomination.”

With Regards to the Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, the Minority refused to approve her appointment on the basis of her incompetence and the fact that she is unfit for the position whiles the accuse Kojo Oppong Nkrumah for pitching the Supreme Court against Dr. Ayine.

Reports suggest that 22 Ministers-designate have been approved by the Appointments Committee of Parliament.

Meanwhile, the Committee is seeking information on five other Ministers-designate including Roads and Highways portfolio Kwesi Amoako-Atta, Minister-designate for Communications and Digitization, Ursula Owusu Ekuful, Health Minister-designate, Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, Attorney General-designate, Godfred Yeboah Dame and John Peter Amewu, Minister-designate for Railways Development.



Adwoa Adubia News